The Crownlands

Although the Crownlands were never their own kingdom like many regions of Westeros, the region now includes some of the most important cities and castles since Aegon the Conqueror landed in Westeros. Geographically, the region surrounds Blackwater Bay, including the major islands of Dragonstone and Driftmark, extends north onto Crackclaw Point, a wooded and rugged land known for its independence, south across the Blackwater Rush and onto Massey's Hook and its stony shores. The northern and western borders are shared with the Riverlands and are located near the God's Eye and around Maidenpool.

When King's Landing became the capital of the Seven Kingdoms, the Crownlands and its lords were directly sworn to the Targaryen kings, some remaining more loyal than others. Many kings have chosen members of their court from among these lords, including the several Hands of the King. Traditionally, the crown prince rules from Dragonstone and has his own lords sworn directly to him. Since Robert's Rebellion these houses are sworn either to House Baratheon of Dragonstone or House Baratheon of King's Landing.